Updating to iOS 5

It’s been a couple of weeks in which the world has focused on Apple – the passing of Steve Jobs, the release of iPhone 4S, the new iOS – iOS 5.

“Hidden” Features

Here are some of the new features that impressed me the most but haven’t been widely promoted:

  • Built-in dictionary, 
  • Improved Chinese Pinyin input method, 
  • Faster response when starting re-ordering apps, 
  • Syncing without locking screen, 
  • Simultaneous updating multiple apps.

Update Process

The updating process almost went without hiccups, until I was going to bed and unplugged the device while it’s “restoring music and videos”.  There was no warning message about do not unplug, and I foolishly thought it was doing it over the Wi-Fi.  iTunes tried to continue the restoring process but more and more errors came up.  Eventually, I sorted out  all the problems and lost data and my iPod Touch continues to be an important part of my daily life.

Preview:  I am planning on buying the new iPhone 4S, so more on that later!  Update 10/16: An interesting article making me reconsidering my options: http://news.cnet.com/8301-13924_3-20120919-64/steve-jobs-last-big-project-the-next-iphone/

Leave a Reply

